Northern Ontario is set to get two more provincial ridings.

The provincial government plans to introduce legislation this fall to add two more ridings in the region, splitting up the Timmins-James Bay and Kenora-Rainy River ridings. Timmins-James Bay will be split to Timmins and the new Mushkegowuk riding. The Timmins riding will include just the City of Timmins while Mushkegowuk will be a mostly francophone riding including communities along Highway 11 from Smooth Rock Falls to Peawanuck.

The Far North Electoral Boundaries Commission says they got an overwhelming response from the people in the area saying it’s a great decision to give Northern Ontario more representation.

Timmins-James Bay MPP Gilles Bisson says Mushkegowuk will have a population of just over 30,000 people, 27 per sent of which are Indigenous and 60 per cent Fancophone. Bisson says Timmins will become the smallest riding in the province with about 42,000 people. He adds it will be great to have two smaller ridings in the area, but is disappointed that only one of the new ridings will me primarily Indigenous.